What Are Auto Insurance Requirements in Chesterfield MO?

Our Agents Help You Understand Missouri Auto Insurance Requirements

What are auto insurance requirements in Chesterfield Missouri     | Alternatives Insurance® of Chesterfield | (636) 449-1213Accidents can be extremely costly, and for those who only purchase the state minimum car insurance limits may be putting themselves in financial jeopardy. What are auto insurance requirements in Chesterfield MO?  If you are not sure, Alternatives Insurance® of Chesterfield agents are here to help.

Missouri law requires that every driver maintains at least the state minimum auto liability insurance coverage to have a reliable method of paying for the costs of damage or injury to another driver after a car accident.

While holding car insurance is the most common method for complying with Missouri’s car insurance laws, you can also meet the legal requirements by submitting one of the following to the Missouri Department of Revenue.  These options show proof of financial responsibility for damages you might cause in an accident.

  • Surety bond.
  • Real estate bond.
  • Cash deposit (or deposit of negotiable securities, such as stocks, bonds, etc.).
  • Certificate of self-insurance.

 Minimum Auto Insurance Liability in Chesterfield Missouri

Minimum liability insurance may not be enough coverage for your situation.  Simply put, liability coverage protects the persons involved with an accident.  Think about this scenario, you have $25,000 for bodily injury, per person.  If you should have an accident and the other driver was severely injured and incurred $50,000 in medical bills, your insurance will only cover $25,000 – leaving you with the rest to pay.  This can be detrimental – especially to those with assets such as a home valuable personal property.

Missouri also requires drivers to hold uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury at the same minimums as those listed for liability coverage.  Uninsured motorist coverage protects you if you’re in a car accident, and the other driver who is at fault, doesn’t have car insurance!  Uninsured motorist coverage will help protect you. It can cover injury-related medical expenses and costs associated with repairing damage to your car.  The caveat is …. If you only carry state minimum and your car is worth $50,000 – you will only receive $25,000 in coverage.

Buying car insurance or just minimum coverage, without fully understanding your risk and coverage needs, could be a very costly mistake. Let our agents help you find the best coverage to meet your personal needs by shopping many top-rated companies.

There are additional coverages to choose from to ensure you are completely protected.  Comprehensive insurance will help cover costs of damage to your vehicle that result from an event that is not an accident, such as severe weather or fire.  Collision Insurance coverage pays for damages to your vehicle after a collision with another car or object.  There are other additions you can add to your policy and we will review them with you.  Those are Medical payments, Rental car reimbursement, Emergency roadside assistance and more.

Driving uninsured is illegal. If you are stopped by an officer and can’t show proof of car insurance, you are subject to a ticket.  In some situations, you might be denied car insurance. This typically happens when you have a history of multiple claims or a poor driving record – both of which raise the insurance company’s risk of insuring you.

Alternatives Insurance® Of Chesterfield Agents are able to shop many carriers and should find the best match for you.  If you have any questions and concerns about your Auto insurance, please feel free to call us and we will help you.  Office hours are Monday-Friday 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.

 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *